2017 Saltire Literary shortlists announced

2017 Saltire Literary shortlists announced

October 13, 2017

The finalists for the six awards making up the 2017 Saltire Society Literary Awards were announced at an event hosted by Edinburgh’s West End branch of Waterstones last night. The audience included authors, publishers, agents, and readers, all of whom were treated to readings from last year’s winner of the Scottish Book of the Year Award, Kathleen Jamie.

The First Book of the Year Award covers a range of styles from fiction to non-fiction, poetry to essays, and this year features Edinburgh writers Ever Dundas for her book Goblin, and Daniel Shand for his novel Fallow. 

The shortlist for the 2016 Saltire Publisher of the Year Award was revealed alongside that of the Saltire Emerging Publisher of the Year Award, a new initiative for 2016, and Edinburgh publishers Canongate and Birlinn are shortlisted alongside new comers 404Ink.

The Awards are organised by the Saltire Society, an independent charity founded in 1936 renowned for championing the Scottish imagination. The six awards each carry a cash prize of £2000, and the winner from each category will go on to compete for the coveted Saltire Scottish Book of the Year Award, which is accompanied by £6000 and supported by Creative Scotland. The winners will be announced at a special ceremony in Edinburgh on 24th November.

Scottish First Book of the Year

Goblin by Ever Dundas
The Cae Room by Kate Hunter
Beneath the Skin by Sandra Ireland
Language of My Choosing by Anne Pia
Mary’s the Name by Ross Sayers
Fallow by Daniel Shand

Scottish Fiction Book of the Year:

Ashland & Vine by John Burnside
Memory and Straw by Angus Peter Campbell
Dalila by Jason Donald
That Was a Shiver by James Kelman
Midwinter Break by Bernard MacLaverty
The Long Drop by Denise Mina

Scottish Non-fiction Book of the Year

Al-Britannia, My Country: A Journey Through Muslim Britain by James Ferguson
Border by Kapka Kassabova
The Passion of Harry Bingo by Peter Ross
Love of Country by Madeleine Bunting
Waypoints: Seascapes and Stories of Scotland’s West Coast by Ian Stephen
Scotland: Mapping the Islands by Charles W. J. Withers, Christopher Fleet, and Margaret Wilkes

Scottish Research Book of the Year

The Campbells of the Ark by Ronald Black
An Leabhar Liath or The Light Blue Book ed Peter Mackay & Iain MacPherson
Immortal Memory: Burns and the Scottish People by Christopher Whatley
Muslims in Scotland by Stefano Bonino
History as Theatrical Metaphor by Ian Brown

Scottish Poetry Book of the Year

Still Life with Feeding Snakes by John Burnside
Bird-Woman by Em Strang
Farm by the Shore by Thomas A. Clark
Twist by Pippa Little
In Search of Dustie-Fute by David Kinloch
Moon for Sale by Richard Greyback

Publisher of the Year 

Floris Books
Black and White Publishing
National Galleries of Scotland

Individuals shortlisted:

Keara Donnachie, Publicity Officer (Sandstone Press Limited)
Laura Waddell, Marketing Manager (Freight Books)
Robbie Guillory, Assistant Publisher (Freight Books)
Leah McDowell, Design and Production Manager (Floris Books)
Sha Nazir, Publisher / Art Director (BHP Comics).

The Saltire Literary Awards

The Saltire Literary Awards are organised by the Saltire Society, an independent charity founded in 1936 with membership branches throughout Scotland. The Awards are heralded as Scotland’s foremost literary awards, with previous winners including Michel Faber, Alasdair Gray, Liz Lochhead and AL Kennedy.