2017 Saltire Society Literary Awards Winners

2017 Saltire Society Literary Awards Winners

December 1, 2017

As the year draws to a close, literary Edinburgh gathered once more in Central Hall on 30 Nov to celebrate the shortlist of talented Scottish writers selected for this year’s Saltire Literary Awards, and to discover who the winners of each category were.

The winner of each individual book award wins a £2,000 cash prize and goes forward to be considered for the Saltire Book of the Year award with an accompanying cash prize of £6,000.

Edinburgh writer Ever Dundas (and former Story Shop participant) won the First Book of the Year Award for her debut novel Goblin, now published by Saraband. The Fiction Book of the Year Award went to Angus Peter Campbell’s Memory and Straw published by Edinburgh-based Luath Press, and The Light Blue Book ed by Peter MacKay & Iain MacPherson (and also published by Luath) took the Research Book of the Year Award.


Full Shortlist

Scottish First Book of the Year

Goblin by Ever Dundas
The Cae Room by Kate Hunter
Beneath the Skin by Sandra Ireland
Language of My Choosing by Anne Pia
Mary’s the Name by Ross Sayers
Fallow by Daniel Shand

Scottish Fiction Book of the Year:

Ashland & Vine by John Burnside
Memory and Straw by Angus Peter Campbell
Dalila by Jason Donald
That Was a Shiver by James Kelman
Midwinter Break by Bernard MacLaverty
The Long Drop by Denise Mina

Scottish Non-fiction Book of the Year

Al-Britannia, My Country: A Journey Through Muslim Britain by James Ferguson
Border by Kapka Kassabova
The Passion of Harry Bingo by Peter Ross
Love of Country by Madeleine Bunting
Waypoints: Seascapes and Stories of Scotland’s West Coast by Ian Stephen
Scotland: Mapping the Islands by Charles W. J. Withers, Christopher Fleet, and Margaret Wilkes

Scottish Research Book of the Year

The Campbells of the Ark by Ronald Black
An Leabhar Liath or The Light Blue Book ed Peter Mackay & Iain MacPherson
Immortal Memory: Burns and the Scottish People by Christopher Whatley
Muslims in Scotland by Stefano Bonino
History as Theatrical Metaphor by Ian Brown

Scottish Poetry Book of the Year

Still Life with Feeding Snakes by John Burnside
Bird-Woman by Em Strang
Farm by the Shore by Thomas A. Clark
Twist by Pippa Little
In Search of Dustie-Fute by David Kinloch
Moon for Sale by Richard Greyback

Publisher of the Year 

404 Ink
BHP Comics
Vagabond Voices

Saltire Emerging Publisher of the Year

Heather McDaid, 404 Ink
Kirstin Lamb, Barrington Stoke
Laura Jones, 404 Ink
Laura Waddell, Harper Collins

The Saltire Literary Awards

The Saltire Literary Awards are organised by the Saltire Society, an independent charity founded in 1936 with membership branches throughout Scotland. The Awards are heralded as Scotland’s foremost literary awards, with previous winners including Michel Faber, Alasdair Gray, Liz Lochhead and AL Kennedy.