Tucked away in a quiet close off the Royal Mile is Lady Stair’s House, the home of the Writers’ Museum. Built in 1622, Lady Stair’s House is one of Edinburgh’s great hidden houses. It was gifted to the City in 1907 and its name remains associated with Elizabeth, Dowager Countess of Stair, an early 18th century owner.
In nearby Makar’s Court the names of Scotland’s Makars are carved in stone, celebrating poets from the 14th century up to the present day.
There are portraits, rare books, fascinating objects, and guided tours which run on Thursdays and Saturdays at 1pm and 3pm.
The Writers’ Collections display artefacts from Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott, and Robert Louis Stevenson.