Current Board of Trustees

Abigail Carney (Chair) has worked in Scotland’s arts, tourism and creative industry sectors for over 30 years developing strategies, programmes and audiences for theatres, festivals and cultural organisations. She is also a facilitator in and beyond the arts: in tourism, education and health. Abigail is Co-Founder and Associate Director of the Lammermuir Festival, winner of the 2017 Royal Philharmonic Society’s Best UK Classical Festival Award; Co-Founder of Scotland’s Step Up Mentoring programme, which has supported over 400 individuals across the Scottish arts sector, and in 2016 she was made Honorary Fellow, Queen Margaret University.

Greg Walker, Regius Professor of Rhetoric and English Literature, University of Edinburgh
Vineet Lal, Literary translator, lecturer in french and tourism consultant
James McVeigh, Head of Marketing and Innovation, Festivals Edinburgh
Lois Wolffe, Major Gifts Fundraiser, Amnesty International
Rachel McCrum, poet, performer and promoter
Francis Bickmore, Publishing Director, Canongate Books
Rob Conner, Finance Director, Edinburgh International Festival


Frank Ross, Lord Provost, City of Edinburgh Council
Jacqueline Kileen, Director, British Council Scotland
Paul McCloskey, Lifelong Learning Strategic Manager (Community Learning & Development and Libraries), City of Edinburgh Council

Advisory (Funders):

Lisa Kapur, Cultural Development Officer, Culture Service, City of Edinburgh Council


Ali Bowden
Siân Bevan
Rebecca Raeburn

Company Secretary:

Suzanne Davidson – The Board is supported by Company Secretary Suzanne Davidson, a trained lawyer and part of the Corporate Governance and Secretariat at the Royal Bank of Scotland. She oversees all compliance matters.

The Trust offers its grateful thanks to our former Trustees:

Julia Armour, Jackie Brock, Colin Browne, Mary Campbell – former Chair, Stuart Cosgrove, Sandy Crombie – former Chair, Roy Cross, Karen Cunningham, Tom Devine, Paul Docherty, Rt. Hon. George Grubb, Lord Provost, Lesley Hinds, Marc Lambert, Liz McGettigan, Iain McKay, Paul McKenna, Matthew Perren, Ali Smith and Martyn Wade, OBE.

Founding Trustees

Edinburgh was designated the world’s first City of Literature in 2004 thanks to the hard work and enthusiasm of the four Founding Trustees.

James Boyle

James was also the Trust’s first Chair. He is a former Controller of BBC Radio 4, having spent most of his career with the BBC, Chair of the Scottish Arts Council and Chair of the Scottish Cultural Commission. He is currently Chair of the Board of Trustees at the National Library of Scotland.

Jenny Brown

Jenny is one of the UK’s leading literary agents, establishing Jenny Brown Associates in 2002. She was previously Head of Literature at the Scottish Arts Council, presenter of book programmes for Scottish Television, and founder Director of the Edinburgh International Book Festival (of which she is now a Board member). She is also a former Committee member of the Association of Authors’ Agents.

Lorraine Fannin

Lorraine was Director of the Scottish Publishers Association and CEO of its successor organisation, Publishing Scotland from 1987 to 2008. She is also a member of the Board of Trustees of the National Library of Scotland and a former member of the British Council Publishers Advisory Committee, the Publishing Qualifications Board and the Institute of Publishing Advisory Board. She is a Consultant and Guest Lecturer for the Scottish Centre for the Book at Edinburgh Napier University.

Catherine Lockerbie

Catherine was Director of the Edinburgh International Book Festival from 2000 until 2009, having formerly been Literary Editor at The Scotsman. She has a wealth of experience in the cultural and literary sectors, has chaired award committees and has judged many literary prizes, including the Whitbread Awards and the Orange Prize.