Announcing the 17 writers for Story Shop 2016

Announcing the 17 writers for Story Shop 2016

June 7, 2016

In partnership with the Edinburgh International Book Festival, the Trust is delighted to announce our Story Shop writers for 2016.

Story Shop is a series of daily short story readings by local emerging writers, all at various stages of their early writing career. As with every year there were so many submissions, it was very difficult to pick just 17 for each of the days of the festival.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to share their words – the future of Edinburgh as a City of Literature is in safe hands! If you were unsuccessful this year, please consider reapplying in the future. Scottish Book Trust has some brilliant writing opportunities and resources for writers at

With no further ado, here are the 17 writers set to read their work at Story Shop 2016:

  • Debbie Cannon
  • Jonatha Kottler
  • Caroline J Deacon
  • Sarah Broadley
  • Janet Nixon
  • Beth Cochrane
  • Viccy Adams
  • Laura A. Anderson
  • Sarah Eakin
  • Ignacio Peña
  • Anne Hamilton
  • Heather Parry
  • Anniken Blomberg
  • Laura Clay
  • Candace Albornoz
  • Siobhan Shields
  • Nandini Sen

More will be revealed about our writers in the coming weeks, and keep an eye on our social media for a full reading schedule. In the meantime, add ‘Spiegeltent, 3 pm‘ to your diary every day of the Edinburgh International Book Festival for great writing, for free.