The Designation

The UNESCO designation of literary cities is part of a wider network of UNESCO Cultural Network cities.

Our Literary Cities image

Our Literary Cities

Edinburgh was the first city in 2004 to become a UNESCO City of Literature, sparking a global network of creative cities. Now there are seven literary cities, a family of like-minded spirits who collaborate internationally and locally to share our love and knowledge of literature, nurture our contemporary writers, and celebrate our literary heritage and heroes in a spirit of aspiration and partnership. Read more
The UNESCO Vision image

The UNESCO Vision

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network seeks to develop international cooperation among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable development, within the framework of partnerships with public and private sectors, professional organisations, communities, civil society, and cultural institutions all over the world. Creative Cities share experience, knowledge and resources, promoting the development of our local creative industries, and fostering worldwide cooperation for economic, cultural and sustainable urban development. Visit site
UNESCO City of Literature Criteria image

UNESCO City of Literature Criteria

Cities of Literature honour freedom of speech and free and equal access to education.

Check your city meets these criteria as you bid to become a city of literature. Visit site