I will say it fairly, it grows on me with every year: there are no stars so lovely as Edinburgh street-lamps.

Robert Louis Stevenson

Trustees of the City of Literature Trust all work on a voluntary basis, offering their expertise in a variety of areas. We give our thanks to all those currently serving on our board:



Mary Campbell

Mary is a Corporate Financier with over 30 years’ experience in the industry and is the Chief Executive and founder of Blas Limited, the corporate finance boutique she established in January 2003. She qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Ernst & Young and then spent 10 years at Nobles where she was Chief Executive of Noble Strategic Advisers.  Then followed 5 years as Director at British Linen Bank, the merchant banking arm of the Bank of Scotland where she initiated the buy-out of the Corporate Finance business from the British Linen Bank to form British Linen Advisers Limited. Mary has served on numerous boards in the private sector (in the UK and the USA) and has had many high profile public appointments.   She was awarded the OBE in 2004 for her contribution to economic development in the Highlands and Islands.



Catherine Lockerbie

Catherine Lockerbie is a founding Trustee and was director of the Edinburgh International Book Festival for nine years. She has been a scriptwriter and broadcaster as well as freelancing in the fields of arts and education for a variety of publications in Scotland and London. In 1990 she was appointed Literary Editor of The Scotsman and spent the subsequent ten years at that newspaper. Catherine has chaired award committees and has judged many literary prizes, including the Whitbread Awards and in 2006, the Orange Award for New Writing.  She has been awarded four honorary doctorates.


Colin Browne

Until August 2009 Colin Browne was a Partner of the Maitland Consultancy - one of the UK's leading financial and corporate communications consultancies. He had a career in the Post Office/BT from 1969 to 1994, ending as Director, Corporate Relations responsible for BT's external and internal corporate communications. He was Director Corporate Affairs, a member of the Board of Management and of the Executive Committee at the BBC from 1994-2000.


James Boyle

Founding Trustee and former Chair, James Boyle spent his career in the BBC where he held various posts including Head of Radio Scotland, Chief Adviser Editorial Policy UK and Controller Radio 4. He has written many scripts for radio and a number of TV plays for educational television. James Boyle was a Civil Service Commissioner and is also a former Chair of the Scottish Arts Council.


Lesley Hinds

Councillor Lesley Hinds entered politics in 1984, and has represented the Muirhouse and Drylaw Ward since the local government re-organisation in 1996. She has held a number of posts including Leader of the Council and was elected Lord Provost and Lord Lieutenant of the City of Edinburgh for a four year term from 2003 to 2007. Lesley Hinds is active in her support of programmes that promote social inclusion and aims to share Edinburgh’s success with all members of the community.


Lorraine Fannin

Lorraine joined the Scottish Centre for the Book at Edinburgh Napier University in 2009, working on Creativity and Rights. She was previously the Chief Executive of Publishing Scotland, formerly the Scottish Publishers Association.  The organisation has responsibility for the support and development of the publishing sector in Scotland, working with companies, organisations and individuals in the industry, and co-ordinating joint initiatives and partnerships.


Martyn Wade

Martyn is the National Librarian and Chief Executive of the National Library of Scotland, one of the UK's five copyright libraries.


Ron Grosset

Publisher, Geddes and Grosset - a trade publisher specialising in Scottish and reference material.  Geddes and Grosset houses the imprint Waverley Books.


Rt. Hon. George Grubb, Lord Provost

George Grubb was elected as Councillor for Queensferry ward in 1999 and was Chairperson of the Liberal Democrat Group from 2000 until his appointment as Lord Provost in 2007. Following reorganisation of electoral boundaries in 2007, George is now one of three councillors serving the Almond ward.


Sheila Cannell

Sheila Cannell is Director of Library Services at the University of Edinburgh, having formerly been Deputy Librarian and Medical Librarian at Edinburgh.  She is on the Management Board of the Scottish Library and Information Council and is on the Board of the Scottish Digital Library Consortium.  Currently, she is leading the project to redevelop the Sir Basil Spence Main Library building of the University of Edinburgh.


Also Present

Julia Amour attends our board to represent the British Council Scotland, the Lord Provost George Grubb represents the City Council and Liz McGettigan represents the City of Edinburgh Council library service.

Caroline Storrie
is currently giving her time to serve as our company secretary.


Former Trustees

Our thanks to all those listed above, and to former Trustees:

  • Sir Sandy Crombie (former Chair)
  • Ian Rankin
  • Ian Mckay
  • Stuart Cosgrove
  • Marc Lambert
  • Karen Cunningham
  • Ali Smith
  • Matthew Perren
  • Tom Devine


Further Thanks

We also thank Jenny Brown and Paul McKenna who gave their time to serve in the role of company secretary, Roy Cross and Paul Docherty who attended our board to represent British Council Scotland and to Martin Hinds who represented the City of Edinburgh Council library service.