Edinburgh Authors in Running for Comedy Book Award

Edinburgh Authors in Running for Comedy Book Award

April 1, 2015

Not one but two Edinburgh authors are in the running for one of the UK’s top literary awards. And you would be hard pressed to find two authors so different.

Alexander McCall Smith – best known for his Edinburgh series 44 Scotland Street and The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency set in Botswana – and Irvine Welsh, author of the ground-breaking Trainspotting, are among six writers nominated for the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize.

The award is presented just before the Hay Literary Festival to the book thought to best capture the comic spirit of PG Wodehouse, author of the Bertie Wooster and Blandings stories. The winner is presented with a jeroboam of Champagne Bollinger Special Cuvée, 52 volumes of the Everyman Wodehouse edition and has a Gloucestershire Old Spots pig named after their winning novel. Good luck to the pig.

The full shortlist is:

  • Losing It by Helen Lederer
  • Fatty O’Leary’s Dinner Party by Alexander McCall Smith (also published by Edinburgh publisher Polygon)
  • How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran
  • The Dog by Joseph O’Neill
  • Men at the Helm by Nina Stibbe
  • A Decent Ride by Irvine Welsh

irvine Welsh will be in Edinburgh on 19th April as part of a tour for his shortlisted book. Find out more here.

Image: BBC