Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Childrens Books

Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Childrens Books

October 30, 2006

The Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Children’s Books is run by Scottish Book Trust’s BRAW (Books, Reading and Writing) project and the 2006 winner will be announced in a ceremony at the Scottish Storytelling Centre on 27 November. Formerly the Scottish Arts Council Children’s Book of the Year award, the awards recognise excellence in Scottish writing and illustration for children. A total of almost 5,000 young people from schools and libraries in all of Scotland’s 32 education authorities have taken part in judging the winners for 2006. The short-listed books in three age categories are:

Early Years (0 – 7 years)

  • Charlie Cook’s Favourite Book by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler
  • Little Lost Cowboy by Simon Puttock and Caroline Jayne Church
  • The Sea Mice and the Stars by Kenneth Steven and Louise Ho


Younger readers (8 – 12 years)

  • Deep Water by Debi Gliori
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J K Rowling
  • The Sign of the Black Dagger by Joan Lingard


Older readers (13 – 16 years)

  • The Drowning Pond by Catherine Forde
  • Green Jasper by K.M. Grant
  • Roxy’s Baby by Catherine MacPhail


The winners will be announced here on 28 November: if you want to read reviews of these books or purchase them online, then visit our sister site