Story Shop 2014

Event-StoryShopSpiegeltentBanner215x

It’s hard not to love the compact beauty of the short story.

Each year at the Edinburgh International Book Festival, the Edinburgh City of Literature Trust invites 17 Edinburgh’s new and emerging writers to take part in a programme of afternoon readings called Story Shop.

Every day, for two and a half weeks, one author reads ten minutes’ worth of story. It’s free, unticketed and takes place every day at 4pm in the fabulous Spiegeltent.

2014 line-up:

Sat 9th Aug       Sarah Gundle →
Sun 10th Aug    Ruth Aylett →
Mon 11th Aug   Alison Summers →
Tue 12th Aug     Becky Leach →
Wed 13th Aug    Halsted M. Bernard →
Thu 14th Aug     Susan MacDonald →
Fri 15th Aug       Hayley Swinson →
Sat 16th Aug      Nicole Brandon →
Sun 17th Aug     Kirsten Waller →
Mon 18th Aug   Marjorie Lotfi Gill →
Tue 19th Aug     Helen Foster →
Wed 20th Aug    Andrea Mullaney →
Thu 21st Aug      Phil Adams →
Fri 22nd Aug     Clare Archibald →
Sat 23rd Aug     Alec Beattie →
Sun 24th Aug    Stephanie McGregor →
Mon 25th Aug    Keith Dumble →

Call for Submissions image

Call for Submissions

For full details of how to apply to Story Shop, see our News section. Read more
Supporting Emerging Writers image

Supporting Emerging Writers

We give Edinburgh's new writers opportunities every year to shine on an international stage. Read more
Meet the Literary Salon image

Meet the Literary Salon

For anyone with a professional interest in writing, our Literary Salon gets you talking.

Writers!

To participate, you must:

  • be from, or live in, Edinburgh.
  • be truly brand spanking new; by this we mean unpublished, or only just published by the squeak of a whisker.
  • not be doing anything else as part of the Edinburgh International Festival. Ok, we might consider you if you’re also doing Unbound. But that’s it, we swear!

Remember, please don’t send us applications outwith the deadline window.